Thoughtless Thursday: car birthday party

We celebrated Rocco’s birthday this weekend.  I usually take birthday parties “off” from photography but I did get some of the details beforehand (and I know my BIL got some of the party, yet to come).

The problem with assembling and decorating the napkins/plasticware two months ahead of time is that you forget you did it and the morning of the party you wake up thinking, “OMG I FORGOT TO EVEN BUY PLASTICWARE AND NAPKINS!!!”  So you run to the store, come home, and set up this:

_MG_9932

And then you remember about the ones you already assembled and you spend a half hour looking for this:

_MG_9934a

I went easy on the food since food is evil when I’m pregnant: hot dogs, fruit, veggies, popcorn, and my sister’s wagon wheel pasta salad.

_MG_9956

_MG_9943

I put this checkered contact paper just about everywhere I could find (McStreamy and Spawn are rudely blocking the full view of the contact paper on the chair in the first picture):

_MG_9964

IMG_9980

The contact paper was also on cupboards, some windows, and the coffee table.  In completely unrelated news, we’re planning on sanding down and refinishing our coffee table this weekend.

I made and hung this car curtain in the kitchen doorway.  It looks barely there in the picture but my husband made it clear it was incredibly annoying to walk through.

_MG_9945

This seemed like the trendy thing to make this year:

_MG_9975

I didn’t get a great cake picture; you can’t really tell that McQueen and Finn McMissile racing around a track.  But they are.

_MG_9970

I served glasses of milk with the cake since that’s what the Indy 500 racers drink when they win.  I don’t think anyone in the room had any clue, and I wasn’t exactly positive myself, but do you think that stopped me?

_MG_9972

And finally: gift bags.

_MG_9927

My mom said she doesn’t understand why someone would spend so much time decorating for a party that only lasts a couple hours.  I can’t really explain; I just know it makes me really happy.  And maybe my kids won’t need quite as much therapy as I do when they grow up.

(Leaving myself wide open on that one…)

2 thoughts on “Thoughtless Thursday: car birthday party

Leave a comment