The Morning After

I woke up the same way many of you did: to instant anxiety, depression, and despair.  It has stayed with me all day and will likely stay with me for a long time, but I remind myself that it will not always be this way.  The first thought I have in the morning will not always be, “This is the beginning of the end of the world.” 

For now, though, it is.  And it sucks.

The sky was dripping all morning in a way that looked just like it was crying.  From the looks on the faces of people I saw going about their lives, they had been, too.

It feels hopeless right now.  It feels like hatred, fear, and paranoia have won.  It feels like our nation got thrown back 50 years to a time when differences between people were something to be feared instead of celebrated.  It feels like love got shoved down to the sidewalk and its lunch money stolen.  I walked past it, lying there battered on the ground, and I said, “I’ve got to do something to help.”  I can’t fix our nation’s political problems or calm everyone’s anxiety (if I did, let me tell you I’d start with my own) but I can still do good in the world.  Today—these days—we are going to need that more than ever.

So when I picked up the boys from school, I took them to the store and told them to fill up the cart with all the non-perishables it could hold, and we will donate the whole cartload to a local charity.*

IMG_2511

It wasn’t much, but it was something.  Even though I feel powerless, I am not powerless to still send up a spark of light.  No matter who is running this country, there will always be a chance for we, the people, to spread love instead of fear and to share what we have instead of cutting the rest of the world off from it.  We will be here to pick Love up off the ground and get it going again, as it has done so many times for us.

Go do something good today.  Then go do it again the next day.  Then do it every day for the rest of your life.

Because forget about making America great again.  We need to make America good again.

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Potato leek soup (leftover)
Sticky balsamic glazed pork chops
Salad with apples, pecans, and blue cheese

*You caught me.  The ice cream was for us because today felt like a day to eat gigantic bowls of ice cream drenched in chocolate syrup.

3 thoughts on “The Morning After

  1. Because forget about making America great again. We need to make America good again…yes! What an important lesson you are teaching your boys. This is the kind of attitude and action that can pull our divided country back together. ❤

  2. I’m proud of you for finding a way to bring some hope and reminding us that we can all do something to make our country a better place.

Leave a Reply

