Geeking Out Party

Vincenzo is turning eleven this week, and the older he’s gotten the fewer opinions he’s been able to form.  When I started asking him about what kind of birthday party he wanted, it went like this:

Me: So, what kind of a party do you want this year?
V: Hm, I don’t know…
Me: Do you want a slumber party?
V: I don’t know…
Me: Do you want to go somewhere or stay home for it?
V: I don’t know.  I don’t really care.
Me: Well then let’s think about who you want to invite and maybe that will help us.  What friends do you want to come?
V: I don’t know…who do you think I should invite?

Eventually Kevin got tired of listening to me try to get information out of Vincenzo and just planned the party for him.  It is a party for a computer nerd planned by his computer nerd of a father: two hours at a place called Game Clucks that has a bunch of computers with games on them and a carpet that really knows how to party.

20160925_234416245_iOS

I would have tossed a banana onto it for scale, but I was afraid the carpet would eat the banana.

We got kind of excited when we drove up and saw this sign on the door.

IMG_2740

It made us feel official and so important!

I didn’t bring decorations, but once we went inside I saw it was unnecessary—the place was already decorated!  Pinterest is going to explode when I upload this!

20160925_234623151_iOS

Kevin took one glance at the set up and said excitedly, “Is that a Klingon sword?!!”  Sometimes I wonder how we ever ended up together.

I was surprised the whole place didn’t smell like B.O. and Mountain Dew, but there was a nice breeze going through so it was actually pretty odorless.  It was a pleasant surprise.

The minute the party guests showed up, they knew just what to do:

IMG_2757

IMG_2751IMG_2789

In a nutshell: kill things.  I walked by some kid’s computer and he was viewing an alternate world through a KILL CAM.

The only thing I had done to get ready for the party was send out an E-vite (CRAZY for a paper-cutter lover like myself) and then stop at Costco for giant bags of beef sticks.  Oh, plus there was a trip to a candy store to pick up a bunch of Vincenzo’s favorite candy:

IMG_2758

If you want to know what it tastes like but don’t want to go out and buy any, you can have someone vomit in your mouth and then stick a lifesaver in there.  Or just check out these Toxic Waste Faces.

IMG_2745

IMG_2747

IMG_2754

The longer we were at the party, the more Kevin started looking and feeling the part.

IMG_2786

While Kevin and the boys were perfectly at home with their beef sticks and head sets, I had no idea what to do with myself.  I tried playing Super Smash Bros Melee for a bit and got really excited about all the points I was getting.  I was a natural!  Then one of the kids told me that this particular game is like golf—the more points you get the worse you’re doing.  So I handed over my controller and went to the back room to take pictures of the cake instead.  These are just some of the many.

IMG_2777IMG_2775IMG_2776IMG_2778IMG_2780

As much as I used to love planning over-the-top parties, I have to admit that as of late, I instead have that amount of love for just-show-up parties.

IMG_2798

It was a no-stress, all-fun, kill-for-thrills, beef stick kind of afternoon, and even if Vincenzo had absolutely no opinions going into the party, I think he came out of it with the opinion that it was pretty awesome.

IMG_2743

Just like him.

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Stuffed peppers (Greek and Italian)
Fresh pasta
Roasted acorn squash with brown sugar & cinnamon
Green beans with mint and lemon
Lemony cheesecake

Leave a Reply

