Moving Day

Guys, we did it!  We moved out of our house!  The remodel-that-will-never-happen is now the remodel-that-is-happening!

People keep saying, “I bet you are so excited for it to be done!”  I answer, “I’m just excited for it to begin!”  I’m sure I’ll be excited for it to be done at some point, but for now the beginning is enough to make me feel a little like a bride again.

We’re not adding much square footage to the house—just a total of about 30 feet that will buy us a foyer.  A small foyer, but a foyer nonetheless.  Now when someone sits down to put on their shoes, another person will also be able go up and down the stairs!  Or open the front door!  Maybe even both!!

No, the reason for our remodel is purely aesthetic.  We have a view of the lake but friends will visit us for a whole year before they say one day, “Hey, you have a view of the lake!”

WP_20141202_10_58_34_Pro 

See?  You didn’t even notice it, did you?

We are one day into our remodel, and it’s amazing the difference in the view already!

View before remodel:

_MG_6333

View at end of day one:

_MG_7968

Okay, okay, that’s a different view.  It’s actually the view from the condo where we’re staying, so technically it is our view at the end of day two.  I kind of feel like a jerk when people ask me if we’ll be moving into the basement for the remodel, washing our dishes in the bathroom sink, and I tell them that no, we are moving into my in-law’s vacant but fully furnished condo right on the lake, just a mile away from home and within walking distance to the boys’ school.

See?  I’m a jerk.

If it makes you feel better, I fell out of love with packing for the move by the end of our move.  We found out on Monday that we needed to be out by Wednesday, so my boxes went from being labeled by room and cupboard and drawer and spatula to, “RANDOM SH**!!!” 

I gave each of my boys a box and told them they could bring as many toys and books as they could fit in it.

Vincenzo’s:

WP_20150715_17_56_11_Pro

Rocco’s:

WP_20150715_17_55_57_Pro

Leo’s:

WP_20150715_18_24_46_Pro

He’s a bit of a minimalist.  Either that or is favorite activity is making his older brothers scream and he figured the best strategy was to bring no toys so he could take theirs instead to induce the screaming.

I did feel a tug on my heart to notice that Rocco’s box didn’t include a single train, or even a spare piece of railroad track.  *sniff*

Our general contractor brought vests and hard hats for the boys today and let them take the first crack at the wall.*  I was sorry we never found the time to paint, “TEAR DOWN THE WALL” on it, but still, it had the same feeling of liberation to it.

_MG_7945_MG_7947_MG_7948_MG_7961_MG_7964

Vincenzo decided he needed some eye protection, so he went to the swim bag and…

_MG_7959

Those goggles are like bad Chinese food.  They just keep coming back.

Anyway, by the end of day one…

WP_20150716_12_12_12_Pro

The east and west sides of our house have been reunited, at long last!

It’s incredible how much happened in a day. In fact, I think the estimate of three months for the remodel is way off base.  At this rate, it looks like our remodel should be done in about two weeks!

I’ll start packing…

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Mixed green salad with chicken, blue cheese, pecans, and raspberries
Lasagna
Whatever this is called:

_MG_7978

I want to say…terrine?

*Written yesterday, published today

3 thoughts on “Moving Day

  1. I smiled and giggled through that whole post (which I needed on this Monday morning!). We were that family that lived through a remodel doing dishes in the bathroom, so stop being all jerky about it.

  2. I love your illustration of moving/packing! Ha! As I unpack from our recent move I have found we packed/moved a lot of garbage. Like, real garbage – food wrappers, old papers, expired coupons!

Leave a Reply

