Just a Day…

I just haven’t had time to write a proper blog post lately.  I haven’t had time for much of anything between coaching soccer, volunteering for during and after school events, shuttling kids to sports and…okay, I could fill up an entire blog post with the mundane details of my schedule but BLARGH.

Anyway.  I blog because otherwise I’m worried there will come a day when I’ll say, “Hey, did all of this stuff I keep talking about actually happen or was it all just a really long, bizarre, beautiful dream?”  Blogging isn’t my most accurate form of journaling, though, as it is also written for an audience (that’s you!) who I’d really like to make laugh.

Awhile back I started up a weekly journal where I just write stream of consciousness about my day—little moments and scenes I want to remember, or ones I know I’ll forget.  It’s not necessarily funny, it doesn’t have a point or message, it just…is.  Since I don’t have time to write something shiny for you today, it’s what you’re getting.  And so, with no further ado…

Tuesday, 5.19.15

Waking up tired and cranky from a rough night of sleep; Leo showing up in my bedroom buck-naked saying, “I peed in my bed;” setting him in the tub and wishing it were me soaking there instead; cleaning up last night’s dishes while making French toast, doing laundry, answering e-mails, dressing children, looking for everyone’s shoes, and packing lunches/snacks for the boys; coming out of the house for the bus stop to see Rocco putting Leo’s blue bunny helmet on him, Leo’s head lifted up trustingly; Leo screaming the entire way to the bus stop because Rocco was going faster than him (this is how it’s been on the way to the bus stop for two straight weeks); grabbing a 20-minute nap while Leo didn’t nap but at least played quietly in his room; crafting downstairs side-by-side with Leo and feeling totally annoyed whenever he needed my help; Leo later asking, “Why is your crafting taking so long?” and consoling himself with a book on the cuddle lounge by himself; me putting down my crafts to snuggle with him and read books for a half hour instead; finding a low point in my day plowing through our garbage and yard waste bins looking for a receipt (I found it!); heading into the library with my boys and an elderly lady saying, “Oh aren’t they cute?” and me seeing them through her eyes; the boys playing with the box of toys at speech therapy while I made a batch of cards; running over my foot with the cart at the grocery store and nearly crying and realizing maybe 20 minutes wasn’t long enough for a nap; Rocco asking if I needed a hug; coming home and continuing my crafting outside on the deck while Leo tried to blow bubbles over the roof and got so excited whenever he did; Vincenzo coming home and shortly after, a surprise visit by two of his best friends; the happy screams and shrieks of five boys in the bouncy house for the next half hour; dinner on the deck (this is the one week of the year when the weather is nice enough to eat outside but the wasps don’t bother us yet); Vincenzo reading a Magic Tree House book to his brothers; me going for a sprint run on the trail behind our house after dinner; pausing in the ravine on the way back inside and discovering our ten-year-old plum tree’s first ever plum (a solitary plum, but still!); being joined outside by Leo for a game of tether ball; watching Leo, who had forgotten I was there, as he blew and tossed dandelions, pulled up bushels of long grass to whack the trees with, stomped, played, and danced in the grass; coming back in to read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to my boys in bed while the sun turned my bedroom golden yellow; Leo asking me to sing “In the Jungle” before he went to sleep and joining in whenever he could (“a weemba way a weemba way…”); hearing giggling coming from his brothers’ room after lights out; coaching Kevin on making a white chocolate Bailey’s cheesecake because he got into a cheesecake cook-off with a coworker this week; finally finding time for a soak in the tub myself

So there you have it: the ups and downs, the busy-ness and calm, the mundane and magical, of a day in the life of MrsMouthy.

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:*
Pasta primavera
Copper River Salmon (thanks, Wendy!)
Strawberries
Triple layer devil’s food cake with 7-minute frosting

*All leftovers from the weekend, hence the lack of food prep in today’s journal entry

Leave a Reply

