Sparkler Cookies

Here’s a second post today, so that if I get run over by the Mermaid Hair Extensions float at the parade this year, the last word I write on my blog will not be “B****.”

Look!  Sprinkler cookies!  I am especially proud because for once I did not steal my idea from the Interwebs but made it up myself.  That being said, I’m sure somebody else has already thought of this idea and executed it and definitely photographed it better than me.

_MG_3890

SPARKLER COOKIE RECIPE:

1 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 cups flour

1 bag white candy melts

1.  Cream the first three ingredients.  Add flour and mix until just incorporated.
2.  Roll dough 1/2” thick and cut into star shapes.  Place shapes on a baking sheet and insert a dowel or long lollipop stick into each one, trying to get the stick in the middle of the dough
3.  Bake at 300 degrees for 12 minutes; cool completely
4.  Melt the candy melts in a double boiler over just-simmering water.  Use a knife to spread a solid layer over each star cookie, then add red, white, or blue sprinkles.  Lay flat on waxed paper until solid.

*The cookies are a bit fragile, so it doesn’t work to dip them entirely.

Happy fourth of July!!

Leave a Reply

