Cake-o-rama

Anyone who knows me knows I do a lot of baking.  I bake just about every day and once we’ve had our fill here I send the leftovers home with anyone who doesn’t say, “No thanks” convincingly enough.  In the past week, for example, I made two birthday cakes for Kevin’s work, one for a neighbor’s birthday party, and a cake, lemon bars, and red velvet cupcakes  for sixty kids at an alternative high school near my house.

It’s been a good—but stressful—week.

So when Kevin and his coworkers were enjoying the two-layer carrot cake and four-layer chocolate cake I sent in, someone there asked him how I have the time to do it all.  Kevin explained, “It’s easy.  She’s unemployed.”

This has led to a week of comments like this at our house:

“Thanks for taking the garbage out—it makes my job easier.  Oh that’s right, I don’t have a job.

Or when I was assembling a 32-layer crepe cake for the neighbor while also feeding Leo breakfast and answering Rocco’s 101 questions about coal cars, and the timer for the ganache was beeping and the phone was ringing and Kevin came in to ask if he could help I said, “No.  I’m unemployed so this is all very easy for me.”

Or when Kevin came home from work today and I told him how my red velvet cupcakes didn’t turn out red enough, the lemon bars stuck to the pan, and the frosting was sloughing off the poppy seed cake and he said, “Tough day at the office?” He is very lucky he had thought to use Leo as a human shield at the time.

I am a SAHM of three boys.  My days are fun, rewarding, challenging, hilarious, aggravating, exhausting, loud, sweet, messy, busy, stressful, and above all, overflowing with love.

You may have noticed I did not include the word “easy” in the list. 

But making Kevin regret his comment?  Now that was easy.

To end on a sweet note, here are pictures of the cakes I made this past week.  I included links to the recipes you can find on-line:

Carrot Ginger Cake with Candied Carrots

_MG_2221a

Chocolate Almond Cake (I let the ganache get too cool so it didn’t drip down the sides like it was supposed to.  Oops.)

_MG_2226

Darkest Chocolate Crepe Cake with Candied Hazelnuts (Got the ganache right on this one!)

_MG_2233

Billowing Poppyseed Layer Cake

DSCN2313

6 thoughts on “Cake-o-rama

  1. First, you are doing the most important job in the world and you’re doing an excellent job at it.

    Second, these cakes are absolutely incredible! Well, maybe this should be a little side business for you?! I certainly would hire you! 🙂

  2. Oh, and just an idea for this blog – you could share some of the things you make and the recipes…Mrs Gourmet Mouthy

Leave a Reply

