How am I Doing?

So I decided to take a break from over-planned parties after Rocco’s train party last month.  For his September birthday, Vincenzo decided he wants an Under the Sea party at a pool, and I am trying really hard to just rent the room, send out an e-vite, buy a cake, and have V pick out favors from the Dollar Store.  The party is about 6 weeks away, so as per my new plan I should have zero done so far. 

But I got nervous about the pool rentals being booked, so I got that done a couple weeks ago.

And then I found a green/white scrap of paper in my craft room and couldn’t sleep until I had turned it into invitations.  I promise you, I tried–really I tried not to!

_MG_8664a

Then I *accidentally* searched for “Under the Sea Birthday Cakes” and then accidentally showed the options to Vincenzo, who fell in love with a cake that requires chocolate shells, which happen to be sold on Amazon, and I also happened to be looking for excuses to buy things on Amazon while I still had my free month trial of Amazon Prime, so…

41n9y7l84YL__SL500_AA300_

And since the shells were only sold in a 3-pound bag, I had to do something with the 2.5 pounds:

_MG_8665a

I’m planning on serving Goldfish crackers, granola bars, and juice boxes at the party, and you have no idea how hard it is not to make individual labels for the juice boxes. 

fishparty11_600x906
(Just sayin’—I wouldn’t be the first.)*

And I’m also trying hard not to do either of these:

27_600x906111015mgreen014

…or set up this art project:

15_600x900

…or serve this:

DSC_0066e_600x400

…and I am trying really, REALLY hard not to buy a pair of these:

Goldfish_Shoe_by_kingadam14

Honestly, the amount of effort it takes to restrain myself from all this decorating and planning might end up being more effort than it takes to actually do all the decorating and planning.  Not over-planning a party is the hardest thing I’ve done in years. 

And I recently went through labor naturally.

 

*SERIOUSLY, SOMEBODY PLEASE TELL ME NOT TO OR I’M GOING TO GO DOWN TO THE BASEMENT RIGHT NOW AND MAKE THEM!

4 thoughts on “How am I Doing?

  1. I just need you to tone down your party mania before my kid realizes how much better Rocco’s parties are than his own.

Leave a Reply

