Teacher Appreciation

Our teacher appreciation gift cost less than a Starbucks certificate this year!  Check it out*:

_MG_6998a

We bought a cheap frame at Goodwill, painted it teal, then bought a big box of crayons that we—okay, let’s be real here, I did this all by myself.  Anyway, I snapped all the heads off of a box of brand-new crayons which, by the way, feels like popping the heads off a fresh batch of fluffy baby chicks.  At least, I imagine.  It felt so wrong that I’m not entirely certain that crayon mutilation isn’t a federal offense.

But still, I love the project and I’m sure we’ll find a use for the crayon bottoms.  Until then, the decapitated crayons are soundly hidden in the basement and I just can’t get this  TICK TOCK TICK TOCK heartbeat sound out of my head…**

*Teacher’s name changed.  It felt like the right thing to do.  IRL, there’s no white box around it, either; it’s printed on the paper.
**That’s an EAP reference, for you non-English majors***
***Pleeeease tell me you know who EAP is

One thought on “Teacher Appreciation

  1. It turned out great. 🙂 I wanted to make one of these, but our school uses beewax crayons, so wasn’t sure if she would think the dollar store crayons were lame, and I’m a tight wad, and would never use the beeswax ones for this project. LOL

Leave a Reply

