Maternity Monday: Lizards and snails and puppy dog tails

Newest pregnancy installment: canker sores.  Thank you, mouth, for your participation.

Ever since we started letting people know we’re pregnant, we have had an overwhelming amount of people say they’re hoping for a girl for us.  It is mind-blowing.  Kevin and I are not sitting around hoping for a girl, yet other people seem to think that’s exactly what we’re doing.  When I explain that we’re happy with whatever we get—our boys are a constant party and we love them to pieces—some of them go so far as to say, “You just don’t know what you’re missing until you have a girl.”  They talk about gender as though it’s a menu item.

What am I supposed to say to that?  I think that mentality shows a complete lack of depth and maturity.  Kevin and I will love our child unconditionally, regardless of his/her genetics.  Would we love our child less if he had green eyes instead of blue?  If he had nine toes instead of ten?  If he was born with a tail and webbed feet?   Absolutely not.

The thought of us having three boys is sad to these girl-wishers.  But I personally think it’s sad that they don’t have big enough hearts or minds to fathom that a family could be perfectly happy and not wish for anything more even if we have *gasp* ALL BOYS.

So we still obviously don’t know who our child is going to be, but we do know that our family will feel complete not because of anyone’s gender but because there will be five of us (plus our angel).  I just wish I could help other people understand.

In the meantime, does anyone have a good response?  Here’s all I’ve come up with so far:

Stranger:  Well, I hope you’re finally going to get a girl!
Me: And I hope you finally lose that last 20 pounds!

Or:
Stranger (female—it always is anyway): Well, I hope you’re finally going to get a girl!
Me: Go grow a penis.

14 thoughts on “Maternity Monday: Lizards and snails and puppy dog tails

  1. My daughter has some toes that are webbed and it’s amazing how many people have noticed. She’s only almost-2 after all, so you think they’d be prone to noticing how she’s single-handedly destroying a full aisle of the grocery store first, but whatever. So many people–mostly strangers, mostly women, and mostly older women at that–have said things like “when are you getting THAT fixed?” and “can she walk OK?” (which always amazes me because it’s only 2 of the toes on each of her feet that are bound at the first joint; for the rest the webbing isn’t even noticable unless you’re the one washing in between the toes). I’ve come up with so many off-the-wall responses . . .”we were going to train her to be an Olympic swimmer until we found out there was a rule that webbed toes are considered an unfair advantage” and “oh, I couldn’t bear to make her go through surgery again after just being separated from her conjoined twin”.

    Some people have nerve.

  2. Shawna, I love your style! My dad has 2 webbed toes on one of his foot so we actually do check our babies’ toes when they’re born…but I don’t know if I’d ever have it “fixed” either. Your responses rock!

  3. “We’re hoping for another boy! We’re Chinese, so it is a great honor to have many sons in our culture”

  4. I also have received these same comments….along with are they ALL yours???!!! It is extremely annoying. People have finally stopped asking me if I am going to try again so I can have a girl. I think it’s cause my kiddos are older now. FUSTRATING!

  5. LOVE Laura’s response!! I have been wondering how people respond to those questions, so thanks for being educational.

  6. First…just reading now in your blog that you are again expecting and I am so happy for you!! I used to think that my life would not be complete without a little girl, and then I had a son and never was I more happy. Boys rock…and so does Laura’s answer! I can just imagine your perfect delivery of that line!

Leave a Reply

