randoms

1. We had a neighbor girl over this week and she spied an empty egg carton and said, “I know how to make a turtle out of that.  Do you have two googly eyes and a piece of green paper?”  Ten minutes later…

P6044545

Is this what it’s like to have girls?

2.  I’m so desperate for things to blog about lately that, when I realized I didn’t take a picture of the egg carton turtle the neighbor girl made, I actually made a new one for my blog.

3.  And hers was much better.  I’m pathetic.

4.  So pathetic, in fact, that this week I went to my favorite food website, epicurious.com this week, and searched for “grilled cheese sandwich” recipes.   What is wrong with me?

3.  Speaking of things that are wrong with me, here is a picture of a game we call “DON’T HIT THE BABY!1!!!”

_MG_8997

The rules are easy: place one baby on a pool table and instruct the four kids who are zipping pool balls all over the table with their hands to “be gentle.”  Anyone who hits the baby loses a point.  There is no way to gain points during this game.

(My mom, who works with mothers who have had to give their kids to foster care, took great joy in reporting, “Mother seen placing baby in center of pool table. Mother seen caustically laughing as pool balls narrowly miss baby.”)

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Teriyaki chicken
Teriyaki pork
Sticky rice
Roatsed vegetables
Chocolate decadence cakes

6 thoughts on “randoms

  1. Eric and I invented a game where we put crawling baby Harrison on a coffee table, and saw how long it took one of us to jump in and grab him before he went over the edge. Baby Chicken. I’ve never told a soul until now.

  2. If I have to mail back that package you sent me then you probably will have more to share

  3. No need to mail back, package, Colleen–I was just marveling at being shown a different world for an afternoon. 🙂

  4. And Erin–yes, I do have googly eyes in the house. And pipe cleaners. And sequins. And feathers. And glitter. And stamps. And mod podge and foam paper and buckets of stickers and every kind of bead and string and a sock puppet kit and an entire family of tongue depressors just ready to make. I buy these things thinking maybe I’ll finally turn Vincenzo onto arts and crafts, but they go untouched and so I sit here, waiting for girls to visit the house so that I don’t feel like such a fool.

Leave a Reply

