Let it rain, let it rain, let it rain

Why is it when my friends go on winter vacations they come back with tales of sledding and snowmobiling, of roasting S’mores ‘round a fire in the snow, of lazy mornings with chocolate-filled croissants and shaved chocolate hot cocoa, of sing-alongs and winter wonderlands, but when I go on winter vacations I come back with stories of…well, read on.

Kevin and I ditched the baby this weekend (we love you, Rocco!) to take Vincenzo up to Suncadia.  It was stressful packing for everyone but I somehow remembered all the details: winter socks, winter boots, backup boots, hats, gloves, scarves, chapstick, sunglasses, sunblock, instant hand warmers.  Only when we were ten minutes from our mountaintop destination did it occur to me that while I had remembered all the details, I had forgotten something fairly major: Vincenzo’s coat.

Fortunately the local town (a.k.a. street) had a Farm & Home, whatever that’s supposed to mean, and they had jackets for only $11.90 (!!) so I made the best of the situation and bought V a size 6 jacket.  Next year’s winter coat buying: done.

We also found this mountain necessity, for only $2 less than the jacket:

IMG_6436

“Say Good-bye to Chafed Thighs!”  You pat this powder on your thighs where they rub together to have a friction-free walking experience.  Or you can just add some water to it and have a nice thickener for soup, as its main ingredient is cornstarch.  I bought the Anti Monkey Butt powder specially for one specific, incredibly lucky person who reads my blog and would truly recognize this gift for the rare and precious gem it is.  You know who you are.

We made it to the lodge and, in trying to remove the tags from Vincenzo’s new $11.90 jacket, I promptly ripped the zipper right off of it.  Oh woe was us, woe was us.  No jacket…and all this beautiful snowy snow to play in…

IMG_6490

It seems disastrous until—here, let me zoom out that picture of a snowy field.

IMG_6491

That’s right.  We had visions of this:

And we got instead one patch of snow and a whole lot of rain.  There was no snowmobiling, no sledding, no ice skating, no snowshoeing, no wintry wonderland.

IMG_6486a

Fortunately there was a pool and both indoor and outdoor hot tubs, so fun was had.  We stuffed ourselves silly at the lodge’s restaurant then laid around the hotel room watching football and SpongeBob until bedtime.

IMG_6494

I was so looking forward to a full night of sleep without any Rocco wake-ups.  How was I to know that someone before us had set the alarm to go off at 11PM?  It took me three hours to fall back asleep.  I was awoken three hours later by Vincenzo standing directly over me, saying, “MOM I’M HUNGRY.”  When he and Kevin officially woke up an hour later, they left the hotel room so I could sleep.  I have no idea how it happened, but an half hour after they left, that demon alarm clock went off again.  I gave up.

One of my friend’s grandmas is quoted as saying, “You can have nice things or you can have kids.”  I think the same goes for sleep.  With kids, it’s an either-or kind of thing.  At least it is with my kids.

Am I still writing this post?  Where’s the friggin’ editor?!

Anyway, on the way home we found some snow to play in, and even if it was just in a parking lot on the side of the road, Vincenzo couldn’t have cared less.

IMG_6481a

IMG_6515

IMG_6549

IMG_6546

Despite the soggy weather, I can’t wait for our next trip to Suncadia.  The restaurant there rocks, the people were awesome, the drive is beautiful, and when all else fails there is the pool. 

Where else can you get all that, and Anti-Monkey Butt powder too?

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Taggliatelli with crab
Stir-fried asparagus
Brown sugar cookies and ice cream

One thought on “Let it rain, let it rain, let it rain

  1. About a year before we had James, Tim, a group of friends, and I went on a marathon motorcycle ride. We drove through Washington, Idaho, Montana and back again all in 3 days. On the way home we drove past Farm and Home. My thights and butt were so chapped that I was in tears, I could barely control my motorcycle. We were joking about calling our little gang the Red Hot Monkey Butts. At the time, I would have blown a monkey to get that powder, if I’d known that it existed.

Leave a Reply

