I Hope You Dance

So, we got the new Microsoft Kinect game system (overnighted the day it was released because my husband understands NOTHING about holding out on things until Christmas.  Christmas morning is about as exciting in our house as President’s Day morning.) 

Back to the Kinect.  I used to be a Dance Dance Revolution junkie until we upgraded to XBox 360 and our chubby pad wasn’t compatible.  I’ve actually been clinically depressed ever since then, but my friends, the cloud has lifted!  We’ve got Dance Central now!  I’ve been practicing my p-p-p-poker face so much it looks like I’ve been botoxed and I’ve danced so much I’m beginning to think I am this sultry, smooth 20-year-old red-headed biatch.

dancecentralmtvgamesscreenshotaubreynohudembargoeduntiljune14a

Over the weekend I learned such moves as Bum a Ride, The Helicopter, and my favorite, The Back which is a misnomer, as the move is very clearly The Spank.  I cannot wait to hit a real dance club.  I’ll be pulling out Double Dig ‘Em and a swarm of college guys will come over and start fawning over me and then I’ll lean into their ears and softly tell them what it’s like to pass three babies through a hole ten centimeters wide and then to feel every poke and pull as a doctor sews up the rip you got down there.

Too much?

Right.  Other than dance, I also tried out the workout DVD which is like doing Tae Bo in super super slow motion.   a…n…d………………k…i…c…k………………………….a…n…d………………………………s…q…u…a..t…………………………………….a…n…d………………………………finish a scrapbook page……………………………….a…n…d………………………………….…s…q…u…a…t……………………….a…n…d…………………………………go grocery shopping………………………………………a…n…d………………………………

Fortunately the workout gets better and faster the more you do it, and it seems to have the same kind of addictive properties for me that killing zombies has for my husband.

Other than that Kevin and I spent a lot of time trying to make our avatars touch each other’s butts in Kinect sports  and photo bombing each other’s race-finishing shots.  I can’t really explain what that means; maybe I’ll figure a way to upload some photos here by the end of the week.

In summary, get yourself a Kinect.  Or invite yourself over so you can play my Kinect.  Bring your own suspenders.

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Salmon with blackberry hollandaise
Mashed potatoes

4 thoughts on “I Hope You Dance

  1. I think I would like to play a dancing game, but only if most of the moves were borrowed from the Charlie Brown kids. I’m especially good at the one that looks like a zombie on a treadmill.

  2. My office just ordered it. I’m SO excited I might forget to actually bring it to the office. You won’t tell, will you? 😉

  3. um … you definitely need a girly party where all we do is dance like fools & drink.

    oh … and not only would i like some picture evidence, video would be a bonus!

Leave a Reply

