Five is the world’s biggest number

Five years ago yesterday I went to my dad’s graduation from work party*. I remember standing in the parking lot afterwards, telling my mom how I had a backache, which was weird because I never got backaches. “Huh,” we both said.

That night I couldn’t sleep, which wasn’t weird because I’m a horrible sleeper, so I started watching “The Wedding Singer.” At about 10:00 I was thrown off the couch with a knife-in-the-back stabbing pain all across my lower back. Five minutes later: another stab. Five minutes after that another, and another. I crawled to our bedroom.

“Kevin, can you stay up with me a bit? I think I’m in labor.” He consented. Then he fell promptly back to sleep, leaving me on all fours, rocking back and forth.

A couple hours later I made the call. “It’s time.” I said a tearful goodbye to our cat, Rocky, whose life would never be the same and how could we be so cruel as to bring a baby home when we already had a furry black baby of our own?  We were such jerks.

DSC02912

Thirteen hours, four failed epidurals, a little Lamaze breathing, and a lot of screaming later, Kevin and I were looking at each other, saying, “We’re parents!” and cracking up like it was the world’s biggest joke.

IMG_20050928_0002

And then we fell in love.  How could we not?

DSC01350

It’s been five years. A full five years, one hour, and 51 minutes later.  52 minutes.

And we’re still cracking up.

DSCN0920

IMG_0785

DSCN2881

DSCN2888

DSCN3817

PB010002

 

IMG_0039

Happy birthday, baby boy.

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Chuck E. Cheese pizza.   Mmmmmmmblech

*Yes, most people call it “retirement,” but my dad is not “most people.”

8 thoughts on “Five is the world’s biggest number

  1. A very happy birthday to your baby!!! They grow so quickly. It is awesome to watch but tugs on the heart strings, too!

  2. Talk about crying a little, Happy B-Day V! Give the penguin extra hugs- before you know it he won’t want them anymore.

    You do know that your rear is showing a little in that picture.

  3. Lizgizzy–I had totally forgotten about my rear in that picture! You’re either a great friend or a pervert for saying something.

    And I’m a lazy bum for not doing anything about it. Lazy bum.

Leave a Reply

