One man’s trash is another man’s trash too

My family visited our beach house again this weekend.  The guys decided to clean out the garage and it was…it was…WOW.  There was a LOT of stuff in there and everything, my husband pointed out, had a sale sticker on it.  His favorite example was this cache of wood paneling.  Check out the sale sticker:

IMG_2536

Originally $6.88, on sale for $4.88!!!1!1  You must be thinking, “What a deal!”  Suckers.  My family* knew better.  They waited it out and got it for…

IMG_2537

Ninety eight cents!  Back in 1987 that was like a week’s salary!  So let’s play the “Keep it or Toss it game.”  What do you think my family did with the wood paneling?

If you said KEEP it, you’re a big winner today.  My uncle is going to take it home and install it in his attic, which does not currently have wood paneling, if you can believe that.  (I know!)

There was also this unfinished boat hanging in the garage.

IMG_2535

And inside that boat, among many many other things, was…another boat!

IMG_2530

And inside of that boat was…you guessed it, ANOTHER BOAT!

IMG_2531

There was also what appears to be all that remains of BUCK KELLY, whoever BUCK KELLY was.

IMG_2532 

We can only assume these were BUCK KELLY’s flippers, as they seem to have been through something fairly traumatic.

IMG_2533

Time for another round of Keep It or Toss It.  What do you think my family chose for each of these items?

If you said “Keep it” for everything, you’re WRONG!  They did not keep the flippers because, DUH.

Other items of interest: This Fourth of July outdoor window covering.  Keep or toss?

IMG_2526

KEEP!  And hang up!  (Much to my aunt’s chagrin.)  (Not to mention it’s not even in front of a window.)

IMG_2527

And a set of decorative light switch panels.  That’s gold embossed holly on there, people.  Keep or toss?

IMG_2539 

Aha–TOSS!  (My aunt decided she should maybe hang around outside after the window covering thing.)

After a whole day of cleaning, are you ready to see the results?

IMG_2545 

I’m sorry I didn’t take a “before” picture, but the “after” picture should suffice for both.

All this, and I didn’t even get to the funny part yet.  But you’ll be back for more tomorrow.  I know you.

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Spaghetti carbonara
Roasted red pepper and tomato soup
Applesauce snack cake

*For the duration of this post, “family” refers to my dad and uncle.

3 thoughts on “One man’s trash is another man’s trash too

  1. Rachel – thanks for the ongoing laughs. This actually reminds me of a few of my family members … who shall remain nameless…

  2. The boat in a boat in a boat was sort of Suess-ish.

    One day, my family is going to clean out my craft space and think “WHAT was she thinking?”

Leave a Reply

