Summer nirvana

Whenever Vincenzo’s childhood mirrors mine for some reason I feel like we’re doing it right.  If I remember driving over the mountain pass in the summer as a child, it’s on my list of things we need to do before Vincenzo turns 18.  If I picked strawberries by hand and helped Mom make jam, then take me to the strawberry fields, stat!  If we visited a dam when I was a kid, then SIGN US UP FOR THE DAM TOUR ALREADY!

If you can’t tell, I get kind of stressed out by all the things Vincenzo hasn’t done yet that I did.

But then there are evenings when everything falls into place and his happy laughter sounds just like my own used to, and I can relax because something from The List is happening.  Friday night was one of those times.  It wasn’t planned, it just happened—playing in the pool with a friend like I used to do all summer long. 

IMG_1182

Making up games, teasing each other…

IMG_1190

…getting boo-boo’s and then making out–I mean making up for them.

IMG_1179

Making that squealing noise that was so annoying before we had kids and now is the sweetest sound on Earth.

IMG_1169

My favorite was when they got out of the pool and could only find one towel so Abby said, “That’s all right, we’ll just hug dry!”

IMG_1203 

Even if somewhere during that drying hug, Vincenzo looked at her and said, “Nom!”  No joke.

IMG_1201

When Abby’s not around Vincenzo isn’t that into the pool.  He calls the water “poison drops” and can spend an entire hour in it yet emerge as dry as a bone (he sits up on the inflatable slide the whole time). 

It’s good to have friends to get you out of your shell.

IMG_1198

WHAT’S COOKIN’ 2NITE:
Cheese-filled hotdogs
Figs, grapes, crackers, and cheese
Blanched green beans
Sugar snap peas

3 thoughts on “Summer nirvana

Leave a Reply

