Take the cake (please, before I throw it away)

I’ve made a lot of cakes over the years.  For example:

Vincenzo’s first birthday cake:

DSCN2313

Cake for Vincenzo’s carnival a few years ago:

DSCN5283

For Valentine’s Day one year:

DSCN5315

Wilton class finale:

DSCN5912

Just for fun one day:

P4041119

And everyone’s favorite:

DSCN6481

But alas, my mad cake skills seem to have had an expiration date of “two children,” as this is how Rocco’s christening cake turned out:

IMG_8308

It’s especially heartbreaking when you see the picture of the look I was trying to go for:

I took a ton of pictures of the cake from different angles and with different lighting, but the only way I could make it look halfway decent was to do this:

IMG_8310 

Well, at least someone was happy about the epoch cake fail.  Now this little guy isn’t feeling so lonely in my cake fail file anymore.

DSC05070 

(Because now he has a fellow cake to watch TV with.)

DSC05071

WHAT’S COOKIN ‘2NITE:
Cilantro-walnut chicken skewers
Roasted red pepper and tomato soup

5 thoughts on “Take the cake (please, before I throw it away)

  1. +1 for me. I couldn’t make a cake, that would come close to your worst, if I had to do it to save myself.

    I think sleep deprivation my be to blame?

  2. Good grief…don’t be so hard on yourself!! You rock! I barely can even cook a box cake. BTW…my son thought the dump truck one was the best and would like to place an order for his birthday next year!!

Leave a Reply

